Graham Neary's Newsletter
Monopoly Investor Podcast
Why I focus on the top 1%-2% of companies
0:00
-23:12

Why I focus on the top 1%-2% of companies

Elaborating on a crucial statistical fact: most companies fail to achieve anything for their investors.

Following on from my recent article, I wanted to elaborate on this topic and put it in video/audio format for you.

This podcast includes all of the audio from the presentation, but if you want to see the charts discussed, then head on over to the Youtube channel:

The presentation includes some amazing facts that people may be unaware of, for example:

  • most companies underperform the risk-free rate over the long run.

  • a total or near-total loss for equity investors is the most common outcome for individual stocks.

Who would have guessed the stock market was so dangerous!

The academic paper I’m discussing can be found at this link. I’d be eager to hear your thoughts on the topic.

Best regards,

Graham

0 Comments
Graham Neary's Newsletter
Monopoly Investor Podcast
Hunting for the best quoted companies.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Graham Neary